InfoBasics

Organisations similar to NDSN or share similar goals:

Aspiring Solicitors:  https://www.aspiringsolicitors.co.uk/

InterLaw Diversity Forum: https://www.interlawdiversityforum.org/

Law Society: https://www.lawsociety.org.uk/topics/ethnic-minority-lawyers/about-the-ethnic-minority-lawyers-division

Bright Network: https://www.brightnetwork.co.uk/

Seo London: https://www.seo-london.org

Rare Recruitment: https://www.rarerecruitment.co.uk

Power to Fly: https://powertofly.com

Jopwell: https://www.jopwell.com/who-we-are

UpReach: https://upreach.org.uk

Group GTI: https://groupgti.com

Chambers Student: https://www.chambersstudent.co.uk/

Pathways to Law: https://pathwaystolaw.org.uk/

Interlaw Diversity Forum: https://www.interlawdiversityforum.org/

Windsor Fellowship: https://www.windsor-fellowship.org/

Access Schemes and Scholarships:

Freshfields Stephen Lawrence Scholarship Scheme: https://www.freshfields.com/en-gb/about-us/responsible-business/freshfields_stephen_lawrence_scholarship/

SPARK Scheme – Clifford Chance: https://careers.cliffordchance.com/london/what-we-offer/spark.html

ACCESS Scheme – Clifford Chance: https://careers.cliffordchance.com/london/what-we-offer/access.html

Diversity Access Scheme: https://www.lawsociety.org.uk/campaigns/diversity-access-scheme

The Miranda Brawn Diversity Leadership Foundation: https://www.tmbdlf.com/

IVC Evidencia – BAME Scholarship Scheme: https://ivcevidensia.co.uk/bame

Chevening Scholarships: https://www.chevening.org/

DWF Ethinic Minority Access Scheme: https://www.aspiringsolicitors.co.uk/dwf-ethnic-minority-access-scheme-2020-21/

Helena Kennedy Foundation: https://www.hkf.org.uk/hkf-awards/

Dentons BME Student Scholarship: https://www.dentons.com/en/whats-different-about-dentons/connecting-you-to-talented-lawyers-around-the-globe/news/2021/february/dentons-launches-bme-student-scholarship-in-the-uk

City Solicitors Horizons: https://www.citysolicitorshorizons.org/

Social Mobility Business Compact: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/2010-to-2015-government-policy-social-mobility/2010-to-2015-government-policy-social-mobility#appendix-1-social-mobility-business-compact

SEO London: https://www.seo-london.org/

Graduate websites and Online Journals:

Legal Cheek: https://www.legalcheek.com/

Law Gazette: https://www.lawgazette.co.uk/

Law Careers: https://www.lawcareers.net/

Chambers Student Guide:https://www.chambersstudent.co.uk/law-firms/vacation-schemes

Prospects: https://www.prospects.ac.uk/

TargetJobs: https://targetjobs.co.uk/career-sectors/law-solicitors/340002-why-and-when-to-apply-for-vacation-schemes-in-law-firms

The Lawyer Portal: https://www.thelawyerportal.com/free-guides/law-work-experience/vacation-schemes/

All About Law: https://www.allaboutlaw.co.uk/

Chambers Student: https://www.chambersstudent.co.uk/where-to-start/newsletter

Law Bore: https://lawbore.net

Lawyer Monthly: https://www.lawyer-monthly.com/category/legal-careers/law-school/

Uni-Law: https://www.uni-law.co.uk/the-best-online-sources-for-legal-news/

The Student Lawyer: https://thestudentlawyer.com/tsl-job-board/

Mindfulness and Wellbeing:

Mind: www.mind.org.uk/

Samaritans: http://www.samaritans.org/

Womens Aid: http://www.womensaid.org.uk/

The Calm Zone: http://www.thecalmzone.net/

Black Mental Health: https://blackmentalhealth.com/

Asian Mental Health: https://www.asianmhc.org/

MindOut: http://www.mindout.org.uk/

Mental Health: https://www.mentalhealth.org.uk/coronavirus

NHS: https://www.nhs.uk/oneyou/every-mind-matters/coronavirus-covid-19-staying-at-home-tips/

UK Council for International Student Affairs: https://www.ukcisa.org.uk/Information–Advice/Studying–living-in-the-UK/Coronavirus-Covid-19-info-for-international-students

Ethnicity Spotlight – GOV: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/covid-19-mental-health-and-wellbeing-surveillance-spotlights/ethnicity-covid-19-mental-health-and-wellbeing-surveillance-report

Race Equality Foundation: https://raceequalityfoundation.org.uk/health-care/coronavirus-information-and-resources/

Southall Black Sisters: https://southallblacksisters.org.uk/news/sbs-launches-live-outreach-advice-surgeries/

KEY DATES OF CELEBRATION, RECOGNITION AND AWARENESS [AN1] 

JANUARY

DateEventCategoryRecurring?
18th JanuaryMartin Luther King DayInternationalYearly
24th JanuaryInternational Day of EducationInternationalYearly

FEBRUARY

DateEventCategoryRecurring?
11th FebruaryInternational Day of Women and Girls in ScienceInternationalYearly
20th FebruaryWorld Day of Social JusticeInternationalYearly

MARCH

DateEventCategoryRecurring?
5th – 14th MarchHealthcare Science WeekNationalYearly
8th MarchInternational Women’s DayInternationalYearly
21st MarchInternational Day for the Elimination of Racial DiscriminationInternationalYearly
29th March – 4th AprilWorld Autism Awareness WeekInternationalYearly

APRIL

DateEventCategoryRecurring?
5th AprilInternational Day of ConscienceInternationalYearly
7th AprilWorld Health dayInternationalYearly
22nd AprilStephen Lawrence DayNationalYearly
1st – 30th AprilStress Awareness MonthNationalYearly

MAY

DateEventCategoryRecurring?
1st – 31st MayNational Walking MonthNationalYearly
10th – 16th MayNational Mental Health Awareness WeekNationalYearly
16th MayInternational Day of Living in PeaceInternationalYearly

JUNE

DateEventCategoryRecurring?
5th JuneWorld Environment DayInternationalYearly
14th JuneWorld Blood Donor DayInternationalYearly
20th JuneWorld Refugee DayInternationalYearly

JULY

DateEventCategoryRecurring?
18th JulyNelson Mandela International DayInternationalYearly
30th JulyInternational Day of FriendshipInternationalYearly

AUGUST

DateEventCategoryRecurring?
12th AugustInternational Youth dayInternationalYearly
19th AugustWorld Humanitarian dayInternationalYearly

SEPTEMBER

DateEventCategoryRecurring?
8th SeptemberInternational Literacy DayInternationalYearly
15th SeptemberInternational Day of DemocracyInternationalYearly

OCTOBER

DateEventCategoryRecurring?
4th – 10th OctoberWorld Space WeekInternational/CareersYearly
10th OctoberWorld Mental Health DayInternationalYearly
27th OctoberNational Mentoring DayNational/CareersYearly

NOVEMBER

DateEventCategoryRecurring?
8th & 11th NovemberSQE 1 Assessment Exam Sitting DaysCareersYearly – but date may change!
16th NovemberInternational Day for ToleranceInternational

DECEMBER

DateEventCategoryRecurring?
2nd DecemberInternational Day for Abolition of SlaveryInternationalYearly
10th DecemberHuman Rights DayInternationalYearly

Interfaith Calendar

13th January – Lohri (Sikh)

20th January – Gurpurab (Sikh)

14th February – St Valentine’s Day (Christian)

16th February – Shrove Tuesday (Christian)

17th March – St Patrick’s Day (Christian)

21st March – Norooz (New Year) Persian/Zoroastrian

21st March – Naw – Ruz (New Year) (Baha’i)

25th March – Mahavir Jayanti (Jain)

28th March – Magha Puja Day (Buddhist)

4th April – Easter Sunday (Christian)

13th April – Ramadan begins (Islam)

14th April – Vaisakhi birth of Sikhism (Khalsa) (Sikh)

2nd May – Pascha (Easter) – Orthodox Christian

14th – 16th  May – Eid al Fitr (Islam)

16th June 0 Martyrdom of guru Rajan Dev (Sikh)

20-23rd July – Eid al Adha (Sacrifice Day) (Islam)

23rd July – Emperor Haile Selassie’s Birthday (Rastafaria)

24th July – Asalha Puja Day (Buddhist)

3rd August – Krishna Janmashtami (Hindu)

7th September – Rosh Hashanah (Jewish)

11th September – Paryushana Parva (Jain)

11th September – Ethiopian New Year (Rastafaria)

13th September – Yom Kippur (Jewish)

15th October – Dasar (Hindu)

4th November – Diwali (Hindu/Jain)

4th – 8th November – Diwali Festival of Lights – release of guru hargobind from prison (Sikh)

5th November – Vikram New Year (Hindu)

13th November – Jain New Year (Jain)

19th November – Gurpurab birthday of guru Nanak (Sikh)

29th November – 6th December – Hanukkah (Jewish)

25th December – Christmas (Christian)

Note – some of the dates will vary from year to year based on different calendars used